Startup Maryland’s Michael Binko Named One of 51 Influential Marylanders for 2016 by The Daily Record

  • -

Startup Maryland’s Michael Binko Named One of 51 Influential Marylanders for 2016 by The Daily Record

Leadership in Technology and Ecosystem Building for Innovation and Entrepreneurship to be Recognized at Annual Award Ceremony

EVERYWHERE, MD – Startup Maryland ( today announced the that co-Founder | CEO, Michael Binko, was recently honored by The Daily Record as a 2016 Influential Marylander. Binko joins a group of 51 of the state’s top leaders selected by editors for their leadership and significant contributions to the fields of civic leadership, communications, education, finance, freestyle, general business, health care, law, philanthropy, real estate and technology. Binko was recognized for leadership and efforts centered on technology, and ecosystem-building around innovation and entrepreneurship.”The 51 individuals being recognized this year as Influential Marylanders stand out above others in their industries. They are influencing the business community, the state and often beyond,” said Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, publisher of The Daily Record, a Baltimore-based business and legal newspaper that launched the award in 2006. “What they say is important, and what they do makes a difference in the lives of many Marylanders. The Daily Record is pleased to honor them.” The winners will be recognized today (March 17) at a reception at The Grand Lodge in Cockeysville.

“Given the roster of past recipients, I am humbled to be a peer to this year’s stellar Influential Marylanders cohort,” stated Michael Binko, Founder|CEO of Startup Maryland. “I respectfully accept the recognition but on behalf of the more than 1000 startup founder-entrepreneurs we have been privileged to meet over the past four years since launching Startup Maryland. Our staff and ecosystem of Startup Maryland Champion mentors look forward to continuing the celebrating, coaching, curation and capitalization of our vibrant community of innovative entrepreneurs,” added Binko.


A full list of honorees by category appears below. Elected leaders are not eligible for inclusion because they are by nature influential.


Mike Binko, Startup Maryland
Karl Gumtow, CyberPoint LLC
Todd Howard, Bethesda Game Studios
Jen Meyer, Betamore


Civic Leadership
Diane Bell-McKoy, Associated Black Charities
Anwer Hasan, Louis Berger Group
Ronald R. Peterson and Ronald J. Daniels, Johns Hopkins Hospital/Johns Hopkins University
Patti Saylor, Disability Advocate


Trif Alatzas, The Baltimore Sun
Matt Doud and Ed Callahan, Planit
Alfred Liggins, Radio One Inc.
Pedro Palomino, Somos Baltimore & Mundo LATINO


Sheila Bair, Washington College
Douglas L. Becker, Laureate Education Inc.
Robert L. Caret, University System of Maryland
Dallas S. Dance, Ph.D., Baltimore County Public Schools
Wes Moore, BridgeEdu
Dr. David Wilson, Morgan State University


Anirban Basu, Sage Policy Group
Augie Chiasera, M&T Bank, Greater Baltimore/Chesapeake Region
David Millman, Baltimore-Maryland Market, Bank of America
Mary Ann Scully, Howard Bank


Vicki Brick, Brick Bodies
Jed Dietz, Maryland Film Festival
Spike Gjerde, Woodberry Kitchen
Chris Wilson, Barclay Investment Corp.


General Business
Michael Bettick, Randstad Professionals
R. Michael Gill, Maryland Department of Commerce
Keith Haller, Potomac Inc.
Michael MacDonald, Medifast Inc.
Alan D. Wilson, McCormick & Co.


Health Care
Carmela Coyle, Maryland Hospital Association
Dr. Robert C. Gallo, University of Maryland School of Medicine
Thomas Mullen, Mercy Health Services
Kenneth A. Samet, MedStar Health
Dr. Leana Wen, Baltimore City Health Department


Robert A. Alderson, Skidmore, Alderson, P.A.
C. Justin Brown, Brown & Nieto
John Frisch, Miles & Stockbridge P.C.
Lisae C. Jordan, Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault
William H. “Billy” Murphy, Jr., Murphy Falcon & Murphy
Sheela Murthy, Murthy Law Firm


Mark Furst, United Way of Central Maryland
Lisa Rusyniak, Goodwill Industries of the Chesapeake Inc.
Thomas Wilcox, Baltimore Community Foundation


Real Estate
Jody Clark, Beatty Development
Daniel P. Henson III, Henson Development Group
Donald Manekin, Seawall Development
Marc D. Weller, Sagamore Development Co.